Home » Uncategorized » Seeking Comfort

Seeking Comfort

I’m taking part in NaBloPoMo for the month of May.  It is put on by www.blogher.com .  The theme this month is comfort.

Yesterday I worked from home.  On the days I work from home I wave good bye to my husband and then start my work out.  I like variety and cannot do the same thing every day so on the days I work from home my work outs are a bit longer and harder.  Yesterday was no exception so I jumped on my stationary recumbent bike and started with a 30-minute ride (all up hill).  I progressed to weights and then hit the shower.  I was pretty tired by the time I finished but I felt good.

Later in my work day my friend Lynn texted me and asked if I wanted to go for a walk at lunch.  Seeing as I was working from home and not at the office (her office is next door to mine) that wasn’t going to work.  Instead, I invited her over for a walk around the lake after work and then dinner.  (I live about a five minute walk to the edge of a lake.) She agreed and said she’d be over at 6:30 p.m.  I continued working and finished at 5:00 p.m.  I then realized I had just invited Lynn over for dinner but had nothing in the kitchen to cook.  My husband had left in the morning with my car and was going to Vancouver with a couple of friends to watch playoff game two (Canucks vs. Sharks).  The only other vehicle we have is a Dodge Ram 3500 which is a very large truck that I refuse to drive (mostly because I can’t park it).  Strapping on my walking shoes I headed for the market about two kilometers from my house.  This doesn’t sound like a lot but I do live in a neighbourhood with hills.  Off I went.  The weather was gorgeous and on my way back a dog adopted me and followed me home.  Every time I tried to get close to him to see his tag he would bound away from me and then bound back playing his own game of keep away.  I never did find out where he lived and I do hope he eventually found his way home.  By the time I got home I was very warm from the walk and the weather.  I had enough time to cool down and have a glass of water before Lynn arrived.  Off I went again.

The walk around the lake is about ten kilometers.  Have I mentioned I live in a neighbourhood with a lot of hills?  The lake walk is no exception.  When I want a really good work out it takes me about thirty-five minutes to walk it.  As both of us had already done our work outs for the day we took our time and an hour later found ourselves back home guzzling water.

Today when I woke up my legs were quite tired and getting out of bed was a bit slow.  I was really wishing my house didn’t have stairs.  All day I’ve been seeking comfort.  My legs are sore, my feet are in need of a masssage, and my body is tired.  Comfort for today has taken on the form of sitting out on my deck and reading, walking back inside to get a drink of water, and then sitting again to read.  Everyone needs a day like this but I do feel like a bit of a slug.  Hopefully tomorrow I can do a bit more moving around but for today I’ll enjoy the comfort of a good book.

Leave a Reply

