Home » Uncategorized » Finding Comfort

Finding Comfort

I’m participating in NaBloPoMo for the month of May.  It is put on by www.blogher.com and the theme for this month is Comfort.

I’m not a great gardener…I’m not even that good…and truth be told I don’t like it that much.  Maybe I don’t like it that much because I don’t really know what I’m doing.  I know how to weed but where to plant the right shrub or bush, or how to plan a garden is like learning a new language.  But other reasons why I don’t like it that much range from I don’t like dirt under my fingernails (I do wear gloves but the dirt still finds its way in) to I’m allergic to practically everything in the garden (my nose runs, my eyes water, and if I brush against anything I break out in hives).  I keep well covered up – gardening gloves, long sleeves, and trousers – but even then the allergens still find me.  And yet, I still garden.  The reasons for gardening outweigh (in my mind) the reasons for not gardening.  One is I can’t see paying someone to garden when I am totally capable.  Another reason is I have this vision of my neighbours coming with pitchforks and torches to protest my unkempt yard if I don’t at least keep it tidy.  (I have very good neighbours so I’m pretty sure this wouldn’t happen…pretty sure.)  But the biggest reason I garden is that at the end of the day I sit in my yard and see the work I’ve done and I am at peace and not just because I’ve kept the pitchfork and torch wielding neighbours at bay.

Leave a Reply

