Home » Uncategorized » Is there a smell that instantly gives you comfort?

Is there a smell that instantly gives you comfort?

I am participating in NaBloPoMo for the month of May.  This is put on by www.blogher.com .    The theme this month is comfort.

Smells can make us remember and be nostalgic.  They have the ability to bring tears to our eyes (and not always in a good way).  They invoke strong emotion.  But they can also make us comfortable.  When my grandparents would come to visit they would take me and my two brothers to the Royal BC Museum.  Seeing as they visited at least twice a year it became a running joke about how many times we had been to the museum.  Although we joked about it we did enjoy being with our grandparents.  My favorite place at the museum is a kitchen in the old town which smells like cinnamon.  To this day I can’t smell cinnamon without thinking of my grandparents and our many visits to the museum.

Leave a Reply

